Schiit Vidar Impression Thread - UPDATED WITH REVIEW (CHECK FIRST POST)

Discussion in 'Power Amps' started by Rotijon, Jul 17, 2017.

  1. Taverius

    Taverius Smells like sausages

    Friend
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Likes Received:
    2,434
    Dislikes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Rapallo, Italy
    https://www.cs1.net/products/jensen_transformers/PO-2XX.htm

    That's the 1:1 version, which is considered the best (least coloration) compared to the 1:4.

    You'd want the PO-2RX, but given the not inconsequential cost double check with someone other than me that actually knows their trafos, assuming you can't fix the current setup.
     
  2. Partytime

    Partytime Almost "Made"

    Contributor
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2019
    Likes Received:
    213
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    It’s a decent solution. It has a surprising amount of functionality when you dig into. I also seem to be in the minority when it comes to noise, most people reporting it is notably quiet.

    I think, if I’m understanding your purposes correctly it would work.
     
  3. Forza AudioWorks

    Forza AudioWorks MOT: Forza AudioWorks

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Likes Received:
    554
    Dislikes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Poland
    That was helpful, thanks!
     
    Partytime and tranq like this.
  4. Partytime

    Partytime Almost "Made"

    Contributor
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2019
    Likes Received:
    213
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I’ve solved my rolls box problem in a really expensive manner.
    Instead of getting a two channel pre amp to add to the chain, I’m just replacing most of the chain!

    I was in Magnolia the other day killing time while I got my car smogged and the salesman said he had a sweet pre/pro on close out. So I ended up buying a Rotel RSP 1582. It’s getting a little dated, no Atmos, no Dolby Vision etc, but I don’t have an Atmos system and I have a work around for HDR. The deal was just SO GOOD I had to take it. Like 75% off good.

    Anyway, this thing has 8 channel 4v balanced outs, so all good there.

    I also got an Emotiva XPA5 to amp the rest of the channels.

    I will report back when I have chance to do some real testing. First impression though is big improvement. No noise and all the volume. Also a much better pre than the Yamaha AVR.

    So far I highly recommend this Rotel and believe you can get the same deal or close to it at any Magnolia.
     
  5. yonson

    yonson Almost "Made"

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
    Likes Received:
    106
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I normally have a pair of Vidar running the towers in my main system, however since it's that time of year where I don't need to run the heat or the A/C, I've swapped over to my Parasound JC 1's (they use double the power vs. Vidar, and put off a TON of heat) in my main system and decided to do a little experimenting with Vidar on some spare gear I have. I also decided to do some comparisons between the DAC/preamp in the Oppo 105D and a Modi Multibit along with a Magni 3 as the preamp, I'm using a SYS to switch between them.

    Currently I'm only running a single Vidar and i have to say I'm quite impressed, it has delivered everything I've asked for without issue. I had planned on doing a comparison between a single Vidar and Monoblocks, however I honestly don't even think it's worth it on this system, but I'll probably end up doing it anyway...

    [​IMG]
     
    elmoe, Faust and rlow like this.
  6. rlow

    rlow A happy woofer

    Friend
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Likes Received:
    3,613
    Dislikes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Canada
    I’ve been comparing single vs dual Vidars on my system for the last couple months, but only focusing on the monoblocks recently. I’m running mine with smaller monitors, but I’d be curious whether your impressions line up with mine.
     
    yonson likes this.
  7. yonson

    yonson Almost "Made"

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
    Likes Received:
    106
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I have a smaller set of towers that I'm going to swap in there eventually as well, but they are doing surround duty in my home theater and I'm not looking forward to moving these again...
     
  8. yonson

    yonson Almost "Made"

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
    Likes Received:
    106
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I'm still quite impressed with Vidar as a stereo amp, however I did have my first protection excursion this morning (4 ohm stereo) while I was working around the house and had it cranked. I'm pretty sure it was over-current as all I had to do was power cycle it and it was back to jamming. I checked the temperature and the hottest part of the heatsink was just under 70 degrees C, and I've had them over that before without going into thermal protection...
     
  9. Elcid

    Elcid Rando

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Likes Received:
    12
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Florida
    How does Freya S / Vidar combo compare to Rega Elex R integrated amp? Thanks
     
  10. bixby

    bixby Friend

    Friend
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Likes Received:
    2,141
    Dislikes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    113
    erm......



    1. [​IMG] Don't be a dotard!
      Read these "rules" AND introduce
      yourself
      before your first post

    https://www.superbestaudiofriends.org/index.php?threads/what-is-sbaf-10-articles-for-behavior.5555/
     
  11. yunie_

    yunie_ Acquaintance

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Likes Received:
    62
    Dislikes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Singapore
    @rlow just wanna ask, is a single vidar enough to power your atc scm 19? Especially at low volume
     
  12. rlow

    rlow A happy woofer

    Friend
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Likes Received:
    3,613
    Dislikes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Canada
    About the same as most of the decently powered amps I’ve tried with them, which is to say it was ok, but the ATCs like some power and volume to get going, like most lower sensitivity speakers. The only amp I’ve heard that sounded significantly better was the Kinki Studio Ex M1, which was a low volume champ, but I didn’t think it matched well for other reasons.
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2019
  13. recstar24

    recstar24 Acquaintance

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Likes Received:
    25
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    Had a question from the user side in regards to heat and setup. I’m possibly looking at placing a Vidal in an enclosed media rack/shelf, which would leave about 3” each side from the heat sinks and about 2” of clearance above the Vidar. Sound doable? Or is this a heating disaster with auto turn off disaster waiting to happen?
     
  14. yotacowboy

    yotacowboy McRibs Kind of Guy

    Friend
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Likes Received:
    2,778
    Dislikes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    NOVA
    Home Page:
    CANNOT RECOMMEND.

    In all seriousness I probably wouldn't put any class A/B amp in an enclosed rack.
     
    allegro and recstar24 like this.
  15. Kernel Kurtz

    Kernel Kurtz Friend

    Friend
    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Likes Received:
    608
    Dislikes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    You may be able to make it work if you can get enough airflow using fans. Without that, no chance. With the kind of airflow you need fans will probably be noisy.
     
    allegro and recstar24 like this.
  16. recstar24

    recstar24 Acquaintance

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Likes Received:
    25
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    thanks guys - my gut was initially leaning towards class d tech due to space constraints and heat. Appreciate the feedback!
     
    allegro likes this.
  17. Dana Reed

    Dana Reed Rando

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2019
    Likes Received:
    14
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    That's a cool thermocouple. Where did you get it, and exactly where did you place the probe? I have a couple of Vidars on a pair of 1.7i, and I can also get them to shut down at certain volume on some tracks. To me it always seemed to be a current problem, rather than temperature, but I was just using an IR thermometer pointed in the fins near the back. I could get them to cut out on a certain point whether the amps were already hot or not, or even if I pointed fans at them from underneath.
     
  18. Kernel Kurtz

    Kernel Kurtz Friend

    Friend
    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Likes Received:
    608
    Dislikes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    I got the thermocouples on Amazon or eBay, I forget which. They were not expensive. I placed the probes on the rearmost fin of the heatsink, at the bottom. It's close to the hottest point, but it does not have to be exact anyway. So long as it is consistently reproducible you can learn what the baselines are even if the display is relative rather than absolute.

    I attached the probes with a combination of aluminum foil and kapton tape, as per here;

    http://www.ecd.com/support/learning...e-attachment-methods.aspx?Post=3916&tabid=371

    And yes, I'm pretty sure I can make them shutdown from either overcurrent or over temperature as well, but now that I have a feel for what they can handle neither situation has happened for a long time.
     
    Dana Reed likes this.
  19. Dana Reed

    Dana Reed Rando

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2019
    Likes Received:
    14
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Thanks for the info!
    I also haven't had them shut down in a while, now that I know how loud I can go with them. Admittedly this is pretty loud, reaching >100 dB at 12 feet away in a 20x10x8 room. Sometimes I just want a little bit MOAR, at least when I have the house to myself.
    This led me to try a pair of Class D monoblocks from Red Dragon audio (1100W/ch 4Ohm), which can push the Maggies until they are too loud and no longer sound good. But at equivalent volume levels, I personally like the sound of the Vidars better.
    It's possible that I just want the Maggies for critical listening at reasonable to high levels, and maybe I should get a pair of Klipsch or Tektons for MOAR rocking.
     
  20. yotacowboy

    yotacowboy McRibs Kind of Guy

    Friend
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Likes Received:
    2,778
    Dislikes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    NOVA
    Home Page:
    If what you want is sheer output, just grab some Cerwin Vegas, or some PA speakers used off of CL, and EQ to your liking at 100+ dB.
     
    Dana Reed likes this.

Share This Page